Mostrar 15888 resultados

Registo de autoridade
Plaistow Maternity Hospital

Plaistow Maternity Hospital was founded in 1889 by Miss Katherine Twining (who became its first Matron), as St Mary's District Nurses' Home, Plaistow. The aim of the Home was to provide midwifery and nursing support for the inhabitants of South West Ham in their own homes. In 1894 the charity purchased 17 and 19 Howard's Road, which formed the basis of the District Nurses' Home. In the same year a Midwifery Training School and District Nursing Training School was opened. One of the stated aims of the Charity was to specifically instruct women for nursing work in villages and cottages.

In 1895 a Committee of Management was formed, and further land was purchased in Howard's Road which allowed the premises to be extended in 1898. In 1901 branch homes were established at the Docks, Stratford and East Ham, and in 1904 a further branch home opened at Barking. The acquisition of 24 and 26 Howard's Road in 1904 allowed for 12 in-patient beds, which increased to 20 in 1911 with the acquisition of no 28. Chesterton House was purchased in 1915 as a centre for ante natal, post natal and infant welfare activities. The in-patient accommodation was replaced by a new building at Chesterton Road, Plaistow with 36 maternity and 4 general beds, opened by Queen Mary in 1923. The name of the charity was changed in 1926 to Plaistow Maternity Hospital.

In 1938 the Central Midwives Board divided the midwifery examinations into two parts, and Plaistow Maternity Hospital was one of only a few hospitals to be recognised for parts I and II. The District Nursing Branch at East Ham was transferred to East Ham District Nursing Association in 1940. During the Second World War, the In-patient Department was evacuated to Suntrap, High Beech, Loughton, Essex. During the same period the Ministry of Health Emergency Maternity Hospital at East Haddon Hall, Northampton was staffed by Plaistow Maternity Hospital. The Hospital building and its branch homes were damaged by bombing during World War II.

The Hospital became part of the National Health service in 1948, at which time the District Home at Barking transferred to the control of Essex County Council. In 1976 the City and East London Area Health Authority (Teaching), following responses to its consultative document `Towards a changed pattern of health care', agreed to close Plaistow Maternity Hospital. Its services were transferred to Forest Gate Hospital, pending the building of a new nucleus hospital for Newham. Newham General Hospital phase 2, which included maternity provision, opened in 1985 and Forest Gate Hospital closed.

This hospital was founded in 1867 by Miss Mary Elizabeth Philips and Miss Ellen Philips, who were members of the Society of Friends. A house in Virginia Road, Bethnal Green, opened on 12 July 1867 as the Dispensary for Women and Children. It was soon decided that only children would be treated and as the North Eastern Hospital for Children the work was transferred to 125 Hackney Road, providing 12 cots. In 1870 the freehold of 327 Hackney Road was purchased and the hospital grew on that site, on the corner of Hackney Road and Goldsmith Row. The hospital was re-named the Queen's Hospital for Children in 1907. It opened a country branch called the Little Folks Home (named after the Little Folks magazine) at Bexhill -on -Sea in 1911. This was evacuated to Woking during World War II.
The Hospital merged with the Princess Elizabeth of York Hospital, Shadwell in 1942, and re-named the Queen Elizabeth Hospital for Children. Thereafter the hospital functioned on two London sites: Queen Elizabeth, Hackney Road; and Queen Elizabeth, Shadwell. A further site was opened at Banstead, Surrey, in 1948. The Shadwell site closed in 1963. The Queen Elizabeth Hospital Group was formed in 1948 to administer the Queen Elizabeth Hospital on its three sites at Hackney Road, Shadwell and Banstead. On closure of the Shadwell site in 1963 it was amalgamated with the Hackney Group to form the Hackney and Queen Elizabeth Group. This arrangement lasted until 1968 when the Queen Elizabeth was detached from Hackney and placed under the Board of Governors of the Hospital for Sick Children, Great Ormond Street. The hospital functioned as part of the Hospitals for Sick Children until 1994 when Great Ormond Street became an NHS Trust. Queen Elizabeth was then managed by East London and The City Health Authority until April 1996 when it joined The Royal Hospitals NHS Trust (name later changed to Barts and The London NHS Trust). The Hackney Road site closed in 1998 when the bulk of its services transferred to The Royal London Hospital as the Queen Elizabeth Children's Service.

Queen Mary's Hospital for the East End

Founded as West Ham Dispensary in 1861, a Hospital was opened as the West Ham and Eastern General Hospital in 1890. It first extended in 1895 and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1917 as Queen Mary's Hospital for the East End. It was administered as an acute hospital by Newham Health District until its closure with the transfer of acute services to Newham General Hospital, Glen Road, Plaistow.

Queen Mary's Maternity Home

During the First World War Queen Mary's Needlework Guild was established, with branches in many parts of the world, to make and distribute clothes and other items to Servicemen. At the conclusion of the War a considerable sum of money collected by the Guild was left unspent and Queen Mary decided to use these funds to endow a Maternity Home, for the benefit of wives and children of Servicemen. The Home opened in October 1919 in temporary premises at "Cedar Lawns", North End Road, Hampstead, a house provided by Lord Leverhulme. The foundation stone of the new building at Upper Heath, on a site again provided by Lord Leverhulme, was laid on 12th October 1921 and was designed to provide 16 beds. The new maternity home was occupied in July 1922. In August 1939 the Home was evacuated to Eynsham Hall, Oxfordshire, but moved again to Freeland House, Oxfordshire, in the Autumn of 1941. The Home returned to Hampstead in the winter of 1945-1946.

On 1st April 1946 the management of Queen Mary's Maternity Home was taken over by the London Hospital. On 1st February 1972 it was transferred to the Royal Free Hospital. With the closure of New End Hospital, Hampstead, in 1986 and its subsequent sale, funds became available for the development of Queen Mary House as a Care of the Elderly Unit, known as Queen Mary House, which opened under the management of the Royal Free Hampstead NHS Trust in 1991.

St Andrew's Hospital

Founded in 1868 as the Poplar and Stepney Sick Asylum, as a result of the Metropolitan Poor Act of 1867 (30 and 31 Vic.c6), which gave authority to the Poor Law Board to order the combination of Unions and Parishes to provide asylums for the Sick Poor. Poplar and Stepney Unions formed one of six such Asylum Districts and administered the Asylum, built at Bromley-by-Bow along architectural lines favoured by Florence Nightingale, and opened in 1873. The Poplar and Stepney Sick Asylum District, whose minutes (1868 - 1925) are held at London Metropolitan Archives (ref: PSSA), administered the Asylum until the District was abolished in 1925.

The Asylum was renamed St. Andrew's Hospital in 1921 and was administered by the Metropolitan Asylums board from 1925 until 1933, at which time responsibility transferred to the London County Council. St. Andrew's became an N.H.S. Hospital in 1948 and was administered by the No. 8 Group, Bow Hospital Management Committee, until 1963, when the Group merged with the West Ham Group to form the Thames Group of Hospitals. From 1974 to 1982 the Hospital formed part of Newham Health District (though positioned in Tower Hamlets) under the City and East London Area Health Authority (Teaching) and since 1982 it was been administered by the Newham Health Authority.

The Hospital grew through 19th century extensions to over 650 beds. A School of Nursing was established in 1875 and nurses followed a three-year course for a certificate of training and sick cookery. By 1930 an optional maternity training course had been established and the nursing staff had expanded to over 200. The headquarters of Newham District School of Nursing transferred to St. Andrew's following the closure of Newham Maternity Hospital, Forest Gate, c.1985, and the School merged with in 1991 with the Princess Alexandra College of Nursing and Midwifery.

In 1990 the Hospital had 283 beds, but a systematic reduction of services had begun. Eighty-five percent of the Hospital buildings were considered to be in poor condition and below acceptable standards for clinical use. The Out-Patients Department closed, as well as some wards. Patients were transferred to Newham General Hospital. The Devons Road entrance to the Hospital was closed. The Intensive Treatment Unit closed in 1995, as well as the Accident & Emergency Department (but a Receiving Room was retained so that GPs could refer patients with medical or surgical problems; this closed in 1999).

The remaining services concentrated on rehabilitation and geriatric care.

The Pathology Laboratories closed in 2001. It had been intended that the site would be vacated by 2004, but St Andrew's remained open for patients until it closed in 2006.

St Clement's Hospital

The original buildings were erected in 1848 - 1849 as a workhouse for the Board of Guardians of the City of London Union. In 1874 it was converted into an infirmary for the same Union. With the reconstruction of Homerton Workhouse in 1909, Bow was superfluous to the Union's needs and was closed, but in 1912 it was re-opened as Bow Institution to treat the chronic sick. London County Council took over the hospital in 1930 when the Board of Guardians was abolished; the number of beds was increased to 786. In 1933 a mental observation unit was opened. St. Clement's (so named from 1936) was badly damaged by bombs in August 1944.

On the introduction of the National Health Service, the Hospital was taken over by the Bow (No. 8) Hospital Management Committee (itself replaced in 1963 by the Thames Group Hospital Management Committee). In 1959, it became exclusively psychiatric. Control of the Hospital passed to the Governors of the London Hospital in 1968, and its designation was altered to The London Hospital (St. Clement's). In 1974 it became part of the Tower Hamlets Health District. The hospital formed part of The Royal London Hospital and Associated Community Services NHS Trust in 1991 and was known as The Royal London Hospital (St Clement's) from 1990. Upon closure of the hospital in 2005 services were transferred to a new Adult Mental Health Facility at Mile End Hospital.

Stepney (No 7) Group Hospital Management Committee

This Committee was established by the North East Metropolitan Hospitals Board on the introduction of the National Health Service in July 1948. The Group consisted of the East End Maternity Hospital, the London Jewish Hospital, Mile End Hospital and St. George's-in-the-East Hospital, together with several clinics. St. George's-in-the-East was closed in September 1956. The Committee was dissolved in 1966 on the formation of the East London Group.

[In 1836 the parish of St George-in-the-East became a Poor Law parish, administered by 18 elected Guardians, who took over the workhouse between Prusom Street and Princes Street (later renamed Raine Street) which had been built about ten years earlier. In 1844 the workhouse was extended and, in 1871, an infirmary was added. In 1893 a Nurse Training School was established at the Infirmary. During WW1 patients were transferred to the St-George-in-the-East Infirmary from the Bethnal Green Hospital, when the military authorities took over the latter for the use of wounded servicemen. In 1925 the parish of St George-in-the-East joined the Stepney Poor Law Union. In 1930 the LCC took over control of the workhouse building and converted it into the St-George-in-the-East Hospital, with 406 beds. In 1948 the Hospital joined the NHS under the Stepney Group Hospital Management Committee, part of the North East Metropolitan Regional Hospital Board, but no records of the hospital are known to exist].

Marie Celeste Samaritan Society

This Society was founded in 1791 by Sir William Blizard (1743-1835), a surgeon at the London Hospital, to provide social welfare services for patients of the hospital. The Society provided services that went beyond the London Hospital's resources, such as financial aid, assistance with lodging and travel, the supply of surgical appliances, artificial limbs, and the provision of convalescent facilities.
In 1898, the Society received a large annual subscription from James Hora (1826-1917), a Vice-President of the London Hospital, in memory of his first wife, Marie-Celeste. Hora wanted to honour her memory by donating to a good cause. The name of the Society was changed to the 'Marie Celeste' Samaritan Society in 1899. Hora left £120,000 to the Society in his will and donated money to endow the Marie Celeste maternity wards.
Each application for assistance that the Society received was reviewed by a committee responsible for the allocation of the funds and services, which met weekly to consider each application. The Society made a significant contribution to the work of the London Hospital throughout the years and is still in existence, continuing to apply the philanthropic ideals that led to its development.

Tower Hamlets Community Health Council

Community Health Councils were established in 1974 to represent the interests of the general public in their local health services. They have three areas of activity: monitoring of services by visits, consultation on Health Authority planning proposals and pursuing complaints by individuals.

The Authority was established in 1981 following the abolition of the City and East London Area Health Authority (Teaching) for records 1974 - 1981 q.v. On the reorganisation of the National Health Service in April 1991 the District became the purchasing authority for health services for the population of Tower Hamlets with provider services contracted principally with The Royal London Hospital and its Associated Community Services N.H.S. Trust (for records 1991 - 1994 q.v. RLHLT) In March 1993 Tower Hamlets District Health Authority merged with the City and Hackney District Health Authority and the Newham District Health Authority to form the East London and the City Health Authority.

Medical Advisory Bodies of the London Hospital

As a result of the "Cogwheel" reports of the late 1960s the pattern of the advisory structure of the Medical Council's Committee of Medicine and Surgery was replaced by Divisions, that of Medicine first meeting in October 1968 and that of Surgery in the following Year. Between 1969 and 1982 further divisions were created: Anaesthesia, Dentistry, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Pathology and Radiography (later Medical Imaging), Scientific and Technical Services and Paramedical Services.
A further development of this process was the abolition of the Standing Committee of the Medical Council (q.v. LM) and its replacement in 1971 by the Final Medical Committee. This body consists essentially of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Medical Council and representatives of the various divisions; acting as the official medium for the transmission of information and advice between the District Management Team (later Board) and the consultant medical and dental staff. As was the case with the Medical Council, the advisory structure was expanded in 1974 to include all of the District Hospitals. The Final Medical Committee was replaced by the Standing Committee of the Medical Council in February 1989: this was wound up in March 1995. The Divisions were replaced (excepting Obstetrics and Gynaecology and Paramedical Services) by four Strategic Planning Groups: 1. Local Acute Services, 2. Regional Services, 3. Sub-Regional Specialities and 4. Support and Diagnostic Departments.

Marylebone Cricket Club

Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) was founded in 1787 - a fact gathered from a poster for a cricket match in 1837 between the North and South of England Box and Cobbet, announcing MCC's Golden Jubilee on 10 July 1837. As London's population grew, so did the nobility's impatience with the crowds who gathered to watch them play. In pursuit of exclusivity, they decided to approach Thomas Lord, a bowler with White Conduit CC, and asked him to set up a new private ground. An ambitious entrepreneur, Lord was encouraged by Lord Winchilsea to lease a ground on Dorset Fields in Marylebone - the site of the modern Dorset Square. He staged his first match - Middlesex (with two of Berkshire and one of Kent) versus Essex (with two given men) - on 31st May 1787. Thus the Marylebone Cricket Club was formed. A year later, it laid down a Code of Laws, which were adopted throughout the game - and MCC today remains responsible for the Laws of Cricket. After a short stay at Marylebone Bank, Regent's Park, between 1811 and 1813, Lord's moved to a new ground in St John's Wood in 1814. It remains MCC's home to this day.

In 1825 Lord sold the ground to a Bank of England director, William Ward, for £5,000. Having provided the Marylebone Cricket Club with a ground for 38 years, Lord retired and then died seven years later. Also in 1825, the Pavilion was destroyed in a fire and as a consequence the initial minute books and records were lost. Work commenced immediately on a replacement, which opened the following year. In 1866 MCC agreed to purchase the freehold of Lord's from Isaac Moses Marsden for £18,333 thanks to money advanced from William Nicholson. Then in 1867 MCC decided to build a Grand Stand and established the 'Lord's Grand Stand Company' - made up of figures including the MCC secretary and trustees - to achieve this aim. The Grand Stand was erected in 1867 at a cost of £1,435. In 1877 MCC accepted an application from Middlesex County Cricket Club to adopt Lord's as its county ground - an arrangement which continues today. Meanwhile, MCC in 1873 put forward plans to create a tournament for county cricket entitled 'Champion County Cup Matches', including regulations, and established county qualifications explaining that no cricketer was allowed to play for more than one county in the same season, and allowing players to choose between the county of birth and of residence at the start of each season. In 1888, the decision was made to erect a new Pavilion designed by the architect Thomas Verity and was built in 1889-1890 thanks to money borrowed from William Nicholson. Then in 1890 it was opened in time for the new season.

By the early part of the twentieth century, the Board of Control for Test Matches (1898), the Advisory County Cricket Committee (1904) and the Imperial Cricket Conference (1909) had been established to oversee domestic and international cricket, while MCC in 1901 became responsible for administering England tours, which were known as MCC tours rather than England tours until 1977. In 1933, following the death of Lord Harris, former cricketer, President, Trustee and Honorary Treasurer of MCC, the Committee decided to set up a memorial for him and thus the Harris Garden was built, which remains at Lord's today. During the Second World War the MCC Committee, the principal committee responsible for club affairs, became known as an Emergency Committee, the ground was requisitioned for use by the Royal Air Force, and Stanley Christopherson remained as President for the duration of the war, thus becoming the longest serving MCC President (Presidents usually served for a term of one year). 1953 saw the Imperial Memorial Gallery opened by the Duke of Edinburgh (twice MCC President in 1949 and 1974) which was dedicated to all cricketers who died in the First and Second World Wars.

In 1967 the MCC committee were warned that a form of re-organisation was required to maintain its status as the governing body of cricket. Since MCC was a private club it could not receive public funds, so in 1968 it set up a Cricket Council as the governing body of cricket and the Test and County Cricket Board (TCCB, now known as the English Cricket Board) to administer professional cricket. It also established the National Cricket Association (NCA) to manage the recreational game. As a result, cricket started to receive financial help from the Government, but MCC's responsibility for the game was reduced. ICC became independent of MCC by 1993, while TCCB took control of the England team and arrangements for big matches including those held at Lord's. MCC celebrated its Bicentenary with a match between themselves and the Rest of the World in 1987, and elected to admit women among its 18,000 members in 1998. There have been fifteen secretaries of the MCC since 1825; Benjamin Aislabie, Roger Kynaston, Alfred Bailie, R A Fitzgerald, Henry Perkins, Francis Lacey, William Findlay, Colonel Rowan Rait Kerr, Ronald Aird, S C (Billy) Griffith, Jack Bailey, J R Stephenson, Roger Knight, Keith Bradshaw and Derek Brewer, who became Secretary and Chief Executive in 2012.

The drawing master and social activist William Shipley published a proposal for a fund to support improvements in the liberal arts, sciences and manufactures, with revenues to be raised through subscription, in 1753. The resulting organisation, the Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce, first met at Rawthmell's coffee house in Covent Garden in 1754. Awards were offered for drawing, and for the production of cobalt and madder (dye). The Society's first medals were awarded in 1756. Early members (after 1914 known as Fellows, or FRSA) included Benjamin Franklin, William Hogarth and Samuel Johnson. In 1757 the Society conferred awards for spinning in workhouses and for carpet manufacture and - in response to severe deforestation over the previous century and to boost the availability of timber for shipbuilding and industry - began to offer prizes for tree-planting. Its awards were divided into classes in 1758: Agriculture, Chemistry, Colonies & Trade, Manufactures, Mechanics and Polite Arts (painting and the plastic arts). The Society soon became informally known as the Society of Arts. It held London's first exhibition of the works of living artists in 1760. After a period in temporary premises, the Society moved in 1774 to premises in the Adelphi (just behind the Strand) designed by Robert Adam, its Great Room decorated with allegorical paintings (1777-1801) by James Barry, where it remains. Its Transactions were first published in 1783.

The President is the titular head of the Society. The Presidents have been: Viscount Folkestone, 1755-1761; Lord Romney, 1761-1793; the Duke of Norfolk, 1794-1815; HRH The Duke of Sussex, 1816-1843; HRH Albert, Prince Consort, 1843-1861; William Tooke, 1862; HRH The Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII), 1863-1901; Sir Frederick Bramwell, 1901; HRH The Prince of Wales (later King George V), 1901-1910; Lord Alverstone, 1910; HRH The Duke of Connaught, 1911-1942; Sir Edward Crowe, 1942-1943; E F Armstrong, 1943-1945; Viscount Bennett, 1945-1947; HRH The Princess Elizabeth, 1947-1952; HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, from 1952. Ad-hoc committees set up by the Society discussed a broad range of topics concerned with the programme and administration of the Society. These include the Committee of Correspondence and Papers and the Committee of Miscellaneous Matters. The Council was established in 1845 and formally assumed full responsibility for the Society's management; this body was the same in constitution and personnel as the existing Committee of Miscellaneous Matters. The first Chairman of Council was elected in 1846. Chairmen are elected for two years. The Society was granted a Royal Charter in 1847. Edward VII, as Patron of the Society, granted permission for the term 'Royal' to be used in the Society's title (1908), which became the Royal Society of Arts (RSA). Its many eminent members included George Birkbeck, Charles Dickens and Karl Marx.

Until the mid 19th century the Society offered rewards for innovation. The awards system was discontinued after 1850 when the Society established a lecture programme to promote wide-ranging discussion on contemporary issues such as transport, manufacture, agriculture and food supply, applied art, industrial design, architecture, housing, technological innovation, issues relating to both the natural and the built environment, urban and rural affairs, trade, business, education and the arts. It played a role in instigating the Great Exhibition (1851), which followed its own exhibitions of industrial products. The RSA Journal was published from 1852 to disseminate information about the Society's activities. In 1866 the Society initiated the memorial tablets scheme in London: these 'blue plaques' were mounted on the former homes of prominent figures. The RSA advocated an exhibition to mark the centenary of the Great Exhibition (1851), and the resulting Festival of Britain (1951) created the South Bank arts complex.

In the field of education, the Society's first examination for artisans was held in 1855, and its music examinations in 1859. In 1870 inquiries into the state of education were launched and the findings published in the Journal. In 1872, a paper on the education of women led to the establishment of the Girls' Public Day School Company to provide education for girls at fees affordable to less well-off families. The Society established a National Training School for Music in 1876, which was to become the Royal College of Music. In 1882 the first fee-paying examinations were held. The Society became a major examining body, principally in commercial/office skills and languages (particularly English as a foreign language), at levels ranging from elementary to post-graduate. Growth in the number of entrants led the Society to make its Examinations Board a separate company in 1987, which in 1997 merged to form part of OCR (Oxford, Cambridge and RSA Examinations).

For further information on the history of the RSA, see D Hudson & K W Luckhurst, The Royal Society of Arts 1754-1954 (London, 1954), and its website: http://www.thersa.org/rsa/history.asp

Alexandra Hospital for Children with Hip Disease

The Alexandra Hospital for Children with Hip Disease was opened on 12 March 1867. Founded by a group of women (two of whom were nurses at the nearby Great Ormond Street Hospital), it was initially based in 19 Queen Square, Bloomsbury, London. Until 1870, it was known as the House of Relief for Children with Chronic Diseases of the Joints, and from 1870 to 1881 the Hospital for Hip Diseases in Children. Hip disease, or tuberculous arthritis, was a common disease at this time.

The demand for the hospital's beds was such that 18 Queen Square was purchased in 1872 to provide additional accommodation. 17 Queen Square was acquired in 1873 and properties in Queen Square Place were added over the following years. In 1881 the hospital was re-named after Princess Alexandra, and by 1897 the Alexandra Hospital had sixty-eight beds. However, the buildings in which the hospital was accommodated were dilapidated and unsanitary and in 1898 a decision was taken to re-build. The hospital took temporary accommodation at 34 Guilford Street, Russell Square, London whilst the rebuilding took place. The new hospital buildings opened on 20 July 1899. The Alexandra Hospital also had convalescent homes at Helen Branch Hospital, Bournemouth, Hampshire (1874-1993); Wash Well Home, Painswick, Gloucestershire (1893-1914); and Clandon Branch Hospital, East Clandon, Surrey (1903-1936).

In 1920, the Alexandra Hospital moved from its central London location. It took up residence at the Kettlewell Home in Swanley, Kent, the site of St Bartholomew's Hospital's convalescent home. The Alexandra Hospital had maintained close ties with Bart's from its foundation in 1867, and many of its medical staff had served both institutions. These links were now strengthened and on 3 November 1922, the hospitals amalgamated. After the amalgamation the Committee of Management was renamed the Committee of the Alexandra Hospital and Kettlewell Home.

In 1940, the Alexandra Hospital moved for the final time, to Stockwood Park near Luton, Bedfordshire, a property on lease from Luton Borough Council. It was later proposed that a further move be made to Nyn Park in Hertfordshire, but these suggestions came to nothing and in 1958 the Ministry of Health closed the Alexandra Hospital.

St Bartholomew's Hospital , London

St Bartholomew's Hospital was founded, with the Priory of St Bartholomew, in 1123 by Rahere, a former courtier of Henry I. A vow made while sick on a pilgrimage to Rome, and a vision of St Bartholomew, inspired Rahere to found a priory and a hospital for the sick poor at Smithfield in London. Rahere was the first Prior of the Priory of Austin Canons in Smithfield and supervised the Hospital House. In 1170 a layman Adam the Mercer was given charge of the Hospital as the first Proctor and a certain amount of independence from the Priory was achieved. After 1170 grants were received by the Hospital, which attracted valuable endowments of property. However, relations with the Priory remained problematic throughout the medieval period. There were conflicts over several issues, including the admittance of brethren, lay-brethren and sisters who cared for the sick in the early medieval period. Gradually the Hospital became independent, and was using a distinctive seal from about 1200. By 1300 the title of Proctor used for the head of the Hospital was dropped in favour of Master. By 1420 the two institutions had become entirely separate. As well as caring for patients from the City of London and the country the brethren looked after small children and babies from Newgate Prison, and orphans. By the 15th century a school had been formed with a latin master, and a night shelter for pilgrims and travellers was provided.

The Priory of St Bartholomew was closed during Henry VIII's dissolution of the monasteries in 1539, and although the Hospital was allowed to continue, its future was uncertain as it had no income. The citizens of London, concerned about the disappearance of provision for the sick poor and the possibility of plague, petitioned the King in 1538 for the grant of four hospitals in the City including St Bartholomew's. In 1546-1547 St Bartholomew's Hospital was refounded as a secular institution and a Master and Vice-Master, Curate, Hospitaller and Visitor of Newgate Prison were appointed. Henry issued a signed agreement dated December 1546 granting the Hospital to the City of London, and Letters Patent of January 1547 endowing it with properties and income, comprising most of its medieval property. Along with Bethlem, Bridewell and St Thomas', St Bartholomew's became one of four Royal Hospitals administered by the City.

In 1546 four Aldermen and eight Common Councillors of the City of London became the first Governors of the Hospital. They administered the Hospital and appointed paid officials, including a Renter-Clerk, Steward, Porter and eight Beadles. The Board of Governors also divided work amongst themselves. Four were Almoners with responsibility for admitting and discharging patients, ordering stock and checking bills. They worked closely with the Treasurer, responsible for Hospital finances. The weekly meetings of the Treasurer and Almoners developed into an executive committee in the 19th century, reporting to General Courts of the Governors, and became the Executive and Finance Committee in 1948. Other Governors were Surveyors of the Hospital buildings and property. The first professional Surveyor was appointed in 1748. Some Governors had responsibility for inspecting financial statements, and worked closely with the Treasurer and Almoners. Their meetings developed into the House Committee in the 18th century, dealing with leases, appointments and reports of the Hospital Surveyor. The House Committee met frequently and eventually came to manage the routine running of the Hospital. The General Courts of Governors were held two or three times a year. The basic constitution of the Hospital remained the same until the establishment of the National Health Service in 1948. The Medical Council was formed in 1842 to give expert advice to the Governors, and comprised all physicians and surgeons serving the Hospital.

The nursing staff on the Hospital's re-foundation consisted of a Matron and twelve Sisters, and there were also three Surgeons who had to attend the poor daily. Nurses, or "Sisters' helpers", were first recorded in 1647. Although a Physician had been provided for in the Agreement of 1546, the first Physician was not appointed until 1562. A Medical School was gradually established from the end of the 18th century, but its foundation is generally attributed to the efforts of the surgeon and lecturer John Abernethy, who in 1822 persuaded the Hospital Governors to pass a resolution giving formal recognition to the School. Bart's was one of the first hospitals in the 19th century to encourage the use of anaesthetics, making a great many more kinds of operation possible. Understanding of infection and the importance of antiseptic procedures in surgery were only gradually accepted at Bart's, but once adopted did a great deal to reduce patient mortality. The development of medical science, particularly in pathology and bacteriology, led to an increased knowledge of disease. X-rays were first used in the Hospital in 1896 and by the end of the century the first specialised departments had been established. A School of Nursing at St Bartholomew's was founded in 1877. A notable early Matron was Ethel Gordon Manson, better known as Mrs Bedford Fenwick, who encouraged a high standard of training and campaigned for the state registration of nurses.

All the medieval hospital buildings were demolished during the 18th century rebuilding programme, carried out to the designs of architect James Gibbs. The staircase leading to the Great Hall in the North Wing is decorated with two huge paintings by the artist William Hogarth. Other buildings have continued to be added as the need has arisen, including Medical College buildings, nurses' accommodation and new ward blocks.

The Hospital remained open throughout the World Wars, although during World War Two many services were evacuated to Hertfordshire and Middlesex. In 1954 it became the first hospital in the country to offer mega-voltage radiotherapy for cancer patients. Cancer services remain a speciality today. Other notable medical specialities are endocrinology and immunology (particularly HIV/AIDS), while a Day Surgery Unit and state-of-the-art operating theatres were opened in 1991 and 1993.

In 1948 St Bartholomew's became part of the National Health Service, and following re-organisation in 1974 became the teaching hospital for the newly-formed City and Hackney Health District, which included several other hospitals. In the late 1980s, Bart's was planning to set up a self-governing hospital trust when its future was called into question by the publication in 1992 of the Tomlinson Report of the Inquiry into the London Health Service. Bart's was not regarded as a viable hospital and its closure was recommended. The Government's response to this report (Making London Better, 1993), laid out three possible options for Bart's: closure, retention as a small specialist hospital, or merger with the Royal London Hospital and the London Chest Hospital. This produced an intense public debate and a campaign to save the Hospital on its Smithfield site. The result was St Bartholomew's remained open, and joined with the Royal London and the London Chest to form the Royal Hospitals NHS Trust in 1994, which became Barts and The London NHS Trust in 1999. St Bartholomew's Hospital now provides specialist cardiac and cancer care. The Medical Colleges of St Bartholomew's Hospital and the Royal London Hospital merged with Queen Mary, University of London in 1989, to form the Central and East London Confederation (CELC). Following the recommendations of the Tomlinson Report (1992) and the governmental response to it (Making London Better, 1993), the colleges united with Queen Mary & Westfield College in December 1995, to become known as Barts and The London School of Medicine & Dentistry.

The City and Hackney Health District was created in 1974 and formed one of three Health Districts in the City and East London Area Health Authority (Teaching), its boundaries coinciding with those of the Local Authority. The two other districts were Tower Hamlets and Newham. The District became the City and Hackney Health District Authority in 1982. It was abolished in 1993 and superceded by the East London and The City Health Authority.

Hospitals in the area were divided into units, with St Bartholomew's Hospital Unit comprising St Bartholomew's, St Leonard's and St Mark's hospitals; City of London Unit comprising St Bartholomew's and St Mark's; and the Hackney Unit comprising the Hackney, Eastern, Mothers', German, Homerton and St Matthew's hospitals. The Joint Consultative Committee was established to provide for joint care planning between local authorities and health authorities, and drew its membership from the London Borough of Hackney, the City of London Corporation, the Inner London Education Authority, the City and East London Family Practitioner Committee and voluntary organisations, as well as City and Hackney Health Authority. The City and East London Area Health Authority (Teaching) was responsible for the healthcare facilities in the City of London and the London Boroughs of Hackney, Tower Hamlets and Newham. It was divided into three Health Districts: City and Hackney, Newham and Tower Hamlets.

Eastern Hospital

The 1860s was a decade of epidemics in London and it was an outbreak of 'relapsing' fever, in which the patient fell victim to a fever, appeared to recover but relapsed after a week, which led to the foundation of the fever hospital that later became the Eastern Hospital. Since 1867 the Metropolitan Asylums Board had been responsible for the care and control of all fever cases within London. The site in Homerton had been designated as a fever hospital and a smallpox hospital, but it was not until the 'relapsing' fever epidemic that work began. The fever hospital was opened in December 1870, with six wards for typhus, two each for scarlet fever and enteric patients and two smaller wards for any special cases. This gave a total of 200 beds which were immediately occupied. Building work then continued on the adjacent smallpox hospital in an attempt to counteract a growing epidemic of that disease, from which nearly 8000 people died in London between 1870 and 1871.

The hospital opened in February 1871, and consisted of four blocks each containing eight wards with twelve beds. In the first three days sixty patients were admitted and by the middle of the month all the beds were filled. The overflow of patients had to be taken to the fever hospital next door, where the number of beds had been increased to 600. Convalescent patients had to be accommodated in the corridors or in tents in the grounds, while some were even sent to a hospital ship moored at Greenwich. By July, the epidemic had run its course and the number of patients rapidly dropped until, by October 1873, the smallpox hospital was almost empty. Although the first vaccination against smallpox had been made in England in 1721, and a reliable form of vaccine was introduced in 1796, it was not until 1853 that infant vaccination against the disease was made compulsory. Even this did not ensure that everyone was vaccinated and some doctors used the wrong serum. However, the 1870s epidemic clearly showed the value of vaccination, since no patients died who had been vaccinated. After this date the number of smallpox cases gradually declined until, by 1921, there were insufficient numbers to justify a separate hospital and the smallpox hospital was amalgamated with the Eastern Hospital. In the same year, the buildings of the East London Union Infirmary in Clifden Road were also incorporated into the Eastern Hospital.

In the 1920s, scarlet fever and diphtheria were the main diseases treated at the Eastern and the majority of patients were children. They were kept in isolation cubicles until the diagnosis was confirmed and then moved to a general ward. The patients wore rough flannel nightdresses and black boots, and there was a menu of weak cocoa with marmalade sandwiches for breakfast. In 1930, control of the Eastern passed to the London County Council.

During the Second World War St John's Hospital for Diseases of the Skin was severely bombed and all its in-patient facilities were lost. Wards at the Eastern were allocated to patients from St John's and the association between the two hospitals continued until the 1980s.

When the National Health Service was established in 1948, the Eastern came under the control of the Ministry of Health and was one of the four hospitals administered as the Hackney Group, the others being Hackney, the German and the Mothers' hospitals. During the post-war years the Eastern played an important part in defeating two of the most feared diseases of that time - tuberculosis and poliomyelitis. In 1974, the Eastern became part of the newly-created City and Hackney Health District.

The Eastern Hospital was closed in 1982 and shortly afterwards most of the old buildings on the site were demolished. The new Homerton Hospital was built where the Eastern formerly stood. The first patients were admitted to the Homerton in the summer of 1986 and the official opening took place in 1987.

The Mothers' Hospital

The Mothers' Hospital traces its origins to the work for unmarried mothers begun in the earliest days of the Salvation Army. 'Refuge Homes' for poor and destitute women were provided in private houses in various parts of London. As part of this scheme the Salvation Army established a home at Ivy House, Mare Street, Hackney in 1884. Many of the women seeking shelter there were pregnant, and in 1888 the Salvation Army decided to dedicate Ivy House to the confinement of unmarried mothers. Although maternity hospitals had existed in this country since the eighteenth century, these were almost entirely reserved for married mothers only. This was the first time that maternity hospital facilities had been combined with a 'Home of Refuge'.

The Hospital trained its first student midwife in 1889 and more than 250 pupil midwives graduated from the school during its eighteen year existence at Ivy House. During this period, the Hospital continued to expand and more buildings were bought. One of the later developments was a mother-and-baby home called Cotland, based at 11 Springfield Road, Upper Clapton. It existed between 1912 and 1920, and many of the women mentioned in the records of the Mothers' Hospital gave Cotland as an address. Finally, the Salvation Army purchased land in Lower Clapton Road, London E5 in order to build a hospital dedicated to unmarried mothers. In 1912, the foundation stone for the new Mothers' Hospital was laid by Princess Louise, daughter to Queen Victoria, and the Hospital was officially opened in 1913. Designed for 600 births per year, it soon outgrew its facilities and various extensions were made over the years. The new Hospital continued to uphold the teaching tradition of Ivy House and midwives were trained to the standards of the London Obstetrical Society and of the Central Midwives Board (CMB). Pupils attended classes for Parts I and II of the examinations of the CMB and gained experience both on the wards and in District work.

The First World War meant that the Hospital opened its doors to both married and unmarried women. Soldiers could not always send sufficient money to their families and the loss of many lives often caused acute poverty. Therefore, it was decided that the Hospital would be allowed to admit married women whose husbands were in the Army or Navy, or had been killed. Since that time the Hospital accepted both married and unmarried mothers. Between the two world wars, many improvements and additions were made. In 1921, the new nurses' home and theatre were opened by Queen Mary. By the 1930s, the number of births had risen to 2,000 per annum. The Hospital suffered damage during the Second World War, but fortunately there was no great loss of life. Arrangements were made for evacuation to Willersley Castle in Matlock, Derbyshire and to Bragborough Hall, Northamptonshire. However, the Hospital remained in service throughout the war for those who did not leave London. In all, 6,587 babies were born there between September 1939 and August 1945.

Research and innovation were always encouraged at the Mothers' Hospital. One interesting experiment which foreshadowed modern techniques of nursing was dictated by wartime conditions. In defiance of current practice, patients were made ambulant on the second day after delivery. The purpose of this carefully controlled experiment was to facilitate the orderly transfer of patients to the air-raid shelter and make more shelter space available. Margaret Basden, consultant obstetrician in residence during the war, recorded 'from personal experience how smoothly the scheme works, how well the patients stand it, and how striking has been the absence of any confusion or panic'.

With the creation of the National Health Service in 1948, the Hospital was given over to the Minister for Health and was later administered as part of the Hackney Group of Hospitals. However, Health Service Authorities agreed that a proportion of the staff should be members of the Salvation Army and thus the Hospital was able to maintain its individuality. In 1952, Lorne House was acquired opposite the Hospital and used as a training centre and home for 24 nurses. There was also a visiting service provided for mothers giving birth in their own homes. Between 1948 and 1974, the Mothers' Hospital belonged to the Hackney Group Hospital Management Committee and on 1 April 1974, the Group became part of the City and Hackney Health District. The Mothers' Hospital was closed in 1986, and all obstetric services were transferred to the Homerton Hospital.

The German Hospital

Originally founded 'for the reception of all poor Germans and others speaking the German language', the German Hospital also cared for the local English-speaking population in the case of emergencies. It was supported by subscriptions and donations, many from Germany or the German community in England, and was run by German nursing sisters and doctors.

It is estimated that in the 1840s some 30,000 Germans were living in England, making up by far the largest immigrant community. Many of them lived and worked in poor conditions in the East End of London, where poverty and the language barrier left them little chance to make use of the limited medical resources available at that time. The work of a German pastor and a doctor to establish a hospital for 'poor German sick' was taken up by the Prussian Ambassador, the Chevalier Bunsen. He succeeded in enlisting the support of the rich and influential in Germany and England, including both royal houses, so ensuring that the hospital was built. On 15 October 1845, the German Hospital opened with just twelve beds.

An early outstanding feature of the Hospital was the nursing care provided by the Protestant Deaconesses from the Kaiserswerth Institute near Wessendorf. It was their example at the German which prompted Florence Nightingale to visit the Hospital on two occasions and then to enrol for training at the Institute in Germany in 1851. New hospital buildings, constructed according to the highest standards in hospital design, were opened in 1864, and proved to be invaluable in the epidemics which swept London in the 1860s and 1870s. The German royal family took a keen interest in the Hospital, as did the von Schroder family who were often to provide funds for the Hospital over the years.

During the First World War, the German staff remained at the Hospital despite strong anti-German feelings in the country and a shortage of nurses and doctors in Germany. The period between the wars was one of great improvements and extensions to the buildings, the most important of which was the opening of a new wing in 1936. This housed maternity and children's wards, and the well-known and innovatory roof garden for convalescents, which provided a panoramic view of the entire city as far south as Crystal Palace. In May 1940, the staff of the German Hospital were interned on the Isle of Man. English staff assumed the running of the Hospital, which now became German in name only.

Before 1948, nursing matters at the German Hospital were dealt with by the Board of Household Management, later the Household Committee. When the Hospital was taken into the National Health Service in 1948, the newly formed House Committee took over from the Hospital Committee, the Household Committee and the Nursing Committee. The League of Friends of the Hospital was founded in 1956.

In 1974, the German became part of the newly-formed City and Hackney Health District. For its last thirteen years, the German Hospital cared for psychiatric and psychogeriatric patients. During this time it continued to develop its work, such as its provision of emergency night-shelter facilities for psychogeriatric patients from the community. However, it closed in 1987, as the services it offered were transferred to the new Homerton Hospital.

Hackney Hospital , London

Hackney Hospital had its origins in 1750, when the wardens, overseers and trustees of the parish of St John, Hackney, ordered that a room be reserved in the workhouse in Homerton High Street so that sick paupers could be treated separately from other inmates. A matron and one nurse were appointed, and by the following year a larger room was needed and the matron's charge was extended to include the insane as well as the sick. The matron was able to order any of the healthy inmates to help her in treating the 'unfortunates'. Social conditions in Hackney were among the worst in London and there was a continual need for the workhouse and its infirmary to expand to meet the demands made upon it. In 1801, more land was acquired in Homerton High Street. However, it was not considered worthwhile to make improvements until after the freehold of all the property used for the relief of the poor was obtained in 1848. The Guardians of the Poor, who had taken over the responsibility for poor relief from the parish trustees in 1834, then immediately began to rebuild and modernise the buildings, managing to complete the work within two years. There was a cholera epidemic raging at the time, fuelled by the overcrowded conditions and poor drainage in the area. The parish medical officer had resigned in 1849 because he was unable to cope with attending all the sick poor, so the workhouse infirmary was quickly filled to capacity and beyond.

The Guardians took every opportunity to expand and improve the buildings. There is no mention of bad conditions at the Hackney Infirmary in the Lancet's survey of workhouse infirmaries published in 1866, despite it giving a general impression of the workhouses as rather dismal places. They were usually overcrowded, with few comforts, and the walls were painted dull brown and white with little ornament or decoration. The inmates slept on flock beds on wooden or iron bedsteads. There were few books or other amusements and card games were strictly forbidden. The food was usually adequate, but often cold after being carried long distances from the kitchens. The inmates' diet included mutton, bread and beer, but never fruit or vegetables. There were never enough nurses to look after the sick and those that were employed usually had no training and were inclined to drunkenness, encouraged by allowances of beer and gin to supplement their wages. A direct result of the Lancet's survey was the passing of the Metropolitan Poor Law Act in 1867. This resulted in further rebuilding at Hackney so that the Infirmary was entirely separate from the main workhouse buildings, according to the provisions of the Act. By the end of the nineteenth century, the Infirmary accommodated 606 beds. The nursing staff were now partially trained and consisted of a matron and her assistant, eleven staff nurses, twenty-six students and six ward maids. The nurses worked fifty-seven hours per week, or seventy-two hours if on night duty.

In 1930, the Hackney Institution as it was then known, was taken over by the London County Council. However, it was not until four years later that the healthy inmates were moved out and referred to the Public Assistance Committee and the workhouse finally ceased to exist. Its buildings were then used to provide hospital accommodation, but were administered separately until 1938, when they were amalgamated with the Infirmary under one matron. Among the first improvements was the building of a nurses' home in 1937, whilst wards and kitchens were also updated. In 1948, the Hospital came under the control of the newly formed Ministry of Health. For the next 25 years it was administered jointly with the Eastern, the German and the Mothers' hospitals, which together formed the Hackney Group of Hospitals. The Ministry made funds available for further improvements, including a new out-patients department opened in 1956 and physiotherapy rooms the following year. An oncology department with two wards was also opened. With reorganisation in 1974, Hackney Hospital and the other hospitals in the Group became part of the new City and Hackney Health District, the teaching hospital for which was St Bartholomew's Hospital. In 1987, the City and Hackney Health Authority opened a new hospital, the Homerton, and the general services from Hackney Hospital were gradually transferred there. Only psychiatric and geriatric services remained at Hackney and, in 1995, these too were transferred to Homerton. The Hackney Hospital was closed in 1995.

Hackney Group Hospital Management Committee

This Committee was formed on 5 July 1948. It was responsible for the Eastern, German, Hackney and Mothers' Hospitals. From 1963 to 1968, it was also responsible for the Queen Elizabeth Hospital for Children. During this period it was known as the Hackney and Queen Elizabeth Group Hospital Management Committee. In 1974, the Committee was absorbed by the City and East London Area Health Authority.

St Mark's Hospital

The beginnings of St Mark's Hospital were in a small room at No 11 Aldersgate Street where, in 1835, Frederick Salmon opened 'The Infirmary for the Relief of the Poor afflicted with Fistula and other Diseases of the Rectum'. There were just seven beds and in the first year 131 patients were admitted. Frederick Salmon was born in Bath in 1796 and served his apprenticeship in medicine there. He qualified at St Bartholomew's Hospital in 1817 and subsequently became a house-surgeon. In 1827, he was elected to a Surgeon's post at the Aldersgate Street Dispensary. However, Salmon resigned five years later, along with the rest of the medical staff, because of a dispute with the Management Committee about the method of choosing new staff. Tired of the restrictions of working within the establishment, Salmon decided to found his own institution to provide treatment for those conditions which were regarded as 'the most distressing that can afflict our common nature'. So the 'Fistula Infirmary', as it came to be known, was started. Much of the financial support came from the City of London. The Lord Mayor, William Taylor Copeland, was a grateful patient of Salmon's and became the first President. Another benefactor was Charles Dickens, who blamed his need for Salmon's surgical attentions on 'too much sitting at my desk'! There was an overwhelming need for such an institution giving specialist treatment free of charge to London's poor. Therefore, in 1838, when the number of patients had trebled, Salmon moved to larger premises at 38 Charterhouse Square, where there were fourteen beds and more space for treating out-patients. Thirteen years later, a site in City Road was purchased from the Dyers' Company and the almshouses that occupied it were converted to a twenty-five bed hospital. This was opened on St Mark's Day, 25 April 1854, and took the name of St Mark's Hospital for Fistula and other Diseases of the Rectum. The staff consisted of a surgeon, a Matron, a dispenser, nurses and servants. St Mark's was unique in not employing a physician until 1948. In 1859, Frederick Salmon resigned from his post as Surgeon. He is said to have performed 3,500 operations without a single fatality, a remarkable feat in an age when anaesthetics were only just beginning to be used and antiseptics were unknown. The Governors commissioned a portrait of him which was displayed in the entrance hall until the closure of the Hospital in 1995.

By the 1870s, ever-increasing demands on the Hospital caused rebuilding to be considered. The adjacent site, occupied by rice mills, was acquired but could not be developed for some years due to lack of funds. Eventually, building began and in January 1896 the 'New St Mark's' was opened. There was considerable difficulty in meeting the costs of maintaining the new building and it was the entertainment industry that finally came to the rescue. Lillie Langtry organised a Charity Matinee at her theatre in Drury Lane and the Hospital was saved. In 1909, the name of the Hospital was changed for a second time to St Mark's Hospital for Cancer, Fistula etc., reflecting the work and interests of J P Lockhart-Mummery, who was a pioneer in cancer surgery. The First World War seems to have made little direct impact, although ten beds were given over to servicemen. Despite the stringency of the times, the Governors purchased more land on the east side of the Hospital which gave room for expansion after hostilities had ceased. An Appeal Fund launched in 1920 was very successful and, in 1926, work began on a large extension which gave the Hospital a new appearance and provided two new wards, as well as new Out-Patient, X-ray, Pathology and Research Departments. A nurses' home was also provided for the first time. This was replaced by a self-contained home in 1936, when the former accommodation became a private wing named after Lockhart-Mummery, who had retired the previous year. A Samaritan Fund was established to assist patients, and meetings ceased in May 1949 when administration of the Fund officially passed to the Ladies Association. The Ladies Association became the Friends of St Mark's in June 1971.

St Mark's was taken over by the new National Health Service in 1948. It was administered jointly with Hammersmith Hospital until the NHS reforms of 1972, when it became attached to St Bartholomew's Hospital. After 1974, St Mark's was part of the newly-established City and Hackney Health District, which also included Hackney General, the Mothers', the German, the Eastern and St Leonard's Hospitals. During the 1980s, many of the hospitals in the City and Hackney District were closed and their services transferred to the new Homerton Hospital. The government introduced self-governing NHS Trusts and in 1992, Sir Bernard Tomlinson's Report of the Inquiry into the London Health Service proposed radical changes to the hospital groupings then in place. St Mark's remained part of the Barts NHS Shadow Trust (later Barts NHS Group) until April 1994, when the changes envisaged by the Tomlinson Report came into force. At this point, Bart's joined with the Royal London and the London Chest Hospitals to form the Royal Hospitals NHS Trust (later Barts and The London NHS Trust), while St Mark's became part of Northwick Park and St Mark's NHS Trust, based in Harrow. All services from St Mark's were transferred to Northwick Park in July 1995, and the Hospital closed.

St Leonard's Hospital , London

St Leonard's Hospital originated in 1777 as the infirmary of St Leonard Shoreditch Workhouse, on the Kingsland Road, Hackney. The workhouse incorporated two wards for sick paupers, but there was little proper organisation of treatment until the appointment of James Parkinson as parish surgeon, apothecary and man-midwife in 1813. He divided the wards into male and female, surgical and medical, with additional maternity, incurable and insane wards. It was also Parkinson who established a separate fever block in the workhouse for the segregation of infectious patients, particularly those suffering from cholera. This was the first of its kind in London. In 1817, Parkinson published an 'Essay on the Shaking Palsy', in which he described the condition we now call Parkinson's Disease. James Parkinson died in December 1824, but his work was continued by his son, John William Keys Parkinson, previously his father's assistant.

By the 1860s it had become necessary to rebuild the workhouse, which was declared unsafe. The tender of Messrs Perry & Co of Stratford to carry out the work for £47,750 was accepted and building began in 1863. The new buildings were completed in 1866, and included provision for the care of 350 sick poor people in wards separate from the other inmates of the workhouse. In 1871 a further £10,000 was spent on additions and alterations to provide an infirmary and dispensary in a building separate from the main workhouse, according to the requirements of the Metropolitan Poor Act of 1867. However, it remained in the administration of the Shoreditch Board of Guardians until 1930. The new building was opened in 1872 with 503 beds and a Matron was appointed for the first time.

In 1930 the London County Council (LCC) took over the running of St Leonard's. The workhouse was closed and the buildings were incorporated into the infirmary which, since 1920, had been called a hospital. In 1934 the buildings were condemned, but the outbreak of the Second World War prevented any improvements being made. St Leonard's is believed to have been the first London hospital to receive air-raid casualties and was itself bombed in 1941. After the war the condemned buildings continued to be used until a public enquiry prompted the LCC to start improvement works. These were in progress when control of the Hospital passed to the Minister of Health upon the establishment of the National Health Service in 1948. St Leonard's was grouped with four other local hospitals to form Central Group no 5, administered by a Hospital Management Committee. From 1966 to 1974, the Hospital was under the administration of the East London Group Hospital Management Committee.

With the 1974 reorganisation of the Health Service, St Leonard's Hospital became part of the City of London and Hackney Health District, along with St Bartholomew's, St Mark's, the Metropolitan, the Eastern, Hackney, the German and the Mothers' Hospitals. St Leonard's remained a general hospital until 1984, when the in-patient facilities were closed. It was then developed as a centre for co-ordinating community services and supporting health centres. St Leonard's has also become the home for various District Services including physiotherapy, chiropody, a disability resource centre and a diabetic day centre.

League of St Bartholomew's Nurses

The League of St Bartholomew's Nurses was founded in 1899. Isla Stewart, Matron of Bart's, was President and Mrs Bedford Fenwick, former matron and campaigner for state registration, a founder member. Membership was open to nurses who passed the final certificate examination at St Bartholomew's Hospital, regardless of whether they continued their career at Bart's. In recent years, senior nurses working at Bart's have also been eligible for membership even if they qualified at another hospital. The objects of the League have varied from time to time, but have generally included mutual assistance and the maintenance of professional interests of nurses, besides the organisation of social events. The League News was printed twice yearly from 1900 to 1919, and annually from 1920.

Metropolitan Hospital, London

On Wednesday 30 March 1836, an advertisement in 'The Times' announced the foundation of the Metropolitan Free Hospital. The aim of the hospital was to offer treatment to people 'whose only recommendations are poverty, destitution and disease'. They would be accepted without the letter of recommendation required by other hospitals, but which was often difficult to obtain. The founders of the new hospital proposed 'to remedy these inconveniences and defects in most [...] public institutions and to promote the sacred cause of charity'. Two physicians and three surgeons offered their services free of charge. Readers of 'The Times' were asked to give donations. Ten guineas would give them the right to be a life Governor and a subscription of one guinea a year would make them a Governor as long as the money was paid. During the first years of its existence, the Governors of the hospital were largely businessmen of the City of London, the most notable being Joseph Fry. He was a founder member and remained an active chairman for twenty-four years, until his death in 1897.

In the beginning, the hospital had acute financial problems. Tradesmen's bills and even the rent for 29 Carey Street were in arrears. It was probably due to this lack of funds that only out-patients were treated. The Duke of Cambridge visited the hospital on 23 May 1843 and proposed that six beds should be immediately fitted up for in-patients. By 19 June 1844, in-patients were accepted into the Metropolitan Hospital. The Metropolitan moved from Carey Street to 8 Devonshire Square in 1850. The financial situation had not improved and only out-patients were accepted in the new premises. However, on 20 August 1850, it was decided to convert two rooms into an in-patients' ward and to put up beds so that visitors could see that 'in-patients will be received when the funds admit it'. Unfortunately, the new property was soon needed by the Great Eastern Railway Company for an extension of Liverpool Street Station. After long negotiations, 8 Devonshire Square was sold for £8,500 in February 1876.

It was not easy to find suitable new accommodation for the hospital. Several possibilities were suggested and finally it was decided to take a lease on a former warehouse at 81 Commercial Street, Spitalfields. The hospital was closed to out-patients from 21 December 1875 to 3 January 1876, when the new premises were opened. The new wards for in-patients were not ready until April of that same year. Plans were then made to erect a purpose-built hospital in Half Moon Street and Bishopsgate Street. It took some time to remove the sitting tenants, but before any building could begin the Great Eastern Railway Company decided that this space was also needed for Liverpool Street Station and the Great Eastern Hotel. They offered to pay £25,000 and this was accepted in 1882. Again a suitable site had to be found and in January 1883 a freehold site in Kingsland Road was bought for £5,896. Delays occurred and when the lease of the Commercial Street house expired in March 1885, the new building was far from completed. In-patients were sent home or moved to other hospitals, and a cottage and some shops at the corner of Kingsland Road and Enfield Road were taken on a weekly basis. This was not a satisfactory arrangement and in August the Management Committee demanded that the new out-patients department should be completed within two weeks. Even then delays occurred and the department was finally opened on 29 September 1885. The remaining part of the building was finished in the autumn of 1886.

Soon after the Metropolitan Free Hospital was established in Kingsland Road, Sir Edmund Hay Currie became a Governor. He was a businessman in the City of London and he quickly realised that the financial situation of the Hospital would have to be improved. Currie therefore suggested that subscribers should contribute a small sum to the Hospital on a monthly basis, whether ill or in good health. This meant that the name had to be changed. The word 'Free' was omitted and the name became simply 'Metropolitan Hospital'.

Little is known about the nursing staff in the early days of the Hospital. The post of Matron was often vacant, with no suitable candidates for the position. Sir Edmund Hay Currie proposed a solution - to seek the co-operation of an Anglican Nursing Order, the Order of All Saints. This Order provided the nursing staff of the Hospital from 1888 to 1895.

The site in Kingsland Road allowed the further development of the hospital. In 1896 it had 160 beds, twelve being reserved for Jews who had their own cook and a Jewish out-patient physician. In that year, 781 in-patients and 16,033 out-patients were treated. In 1934 the number of in-patients treated at the hospital had increased to 1,981 and out-patients to 29,313, mostly from Hackney. By this time, special departments had been established in ENT and Gynaecology. A Tuberculosis Dispensary had also been organised, which was linked to an inspection of schoolchildren arranged by London County Council. In 1948 the Metropolitan became part of the National Health Service and was administered by the Central Group Hospital Management Committee. In the 1970s it had 146 beds. The hospital was closed in 1977.

St Bartholomew's Hospital Medical School

The first record of medical students working within St Bartholomew's Hospital occurs in 1662, when the Governors gave orders that "young gentlemen or doctors or practitioners" should seek permission if they wished to be in attendance when the Hospital's Physicians were prescribing. The Surgeons also had pupils, and the first students often bound themselves to their teachers by means of an apprenticeship agreement. They received most of their education by attending in the wards and following Surgeons at their work, a practice which later became known as "walking the wards" of the Hospital. Physicians at that time would usually have learned their craft by means of a university degree, but with less opportunity for practical work. In 1734 the Governors for the first time gave consent for any of the Surgeons or Assistant Surgeons "to read lectures in anatomy in the dissecting-room of the Hospital", although permission was withdrawn in 1735. Hospital staff offered lectures to pupils privately before this time, often in their own homes, and continued to do so until the 1780s. In 1767 the Physicians and Surgeons again approached the Governors, who agreed to allow the reading of lectures in a room adjoining the operating theatre in the newly-built East Wing.

In 1791 the Governors agreed to the request of the surgeon John Abernethy for a purpose-built lecture theatre to be constructed within the Hospital. A theatre was built between Long Row and what was then Windmill Court, behind the West Wing, to the design of George Dance. It was variously known as the "Surgeons' Theatre", the "Medical Theatre" and the "Anatomical Theatre", and lectures were given there by Abernethy (on anatomy, physiology and surgery), John Latham (on medicine), Richard Powell (on chemistry) and others. The theatre was rebuilt, on the same site but with an enlarged capacity, in 1822. The efforts of Abernethy also persuaded the Governors to pass a resolution giving formal support to the provision of medical education within the Hospital. This recognition by the Governors and the rebuilding of the lecture theatre are generally regarded as marking the foundation of the Medical School in 1822. Further accommodation in Long Row was acquired by the School in the course of the nineteenth century. A theatre for chemical lectures was built at the southern end of Long Row, and in the 1830s a new museum and library were constructed, with a further theatre for lectures on materia medica and botany.

In Abernethy's time, and for some years afterwards, a student decided his own curriculum, attending lectures as he wished, besides walking the wards. If he preferred, he could choose to attend lectures at several different hospitals or private medical schools. At Bart's, as elsewhere, students paid no lecture fees to the Hospital, but could purchase admission tickets to as many individual courses as they wished to attend. Each lecturer sold tickets for his own courses. At the end of a course a certificate of attendance might be granted to those who had completed it. Certificates of "hospital practice" were also issued, to students who had attended regularly in the wards. After Abernethy's death in 1831 the School began to decline, as no member of the medical staff was prepared to take responsibility for administering it, or for offering guidance to the students in the development of their studies.

Until 1843 students had to arrange their own accommodation, but in that year the Governors founded a residential college to allow the students residence within the walls of the Hospital. The residential quarters occupied a row of houses on the west side of Duke Street (now called Little Britain). The first Warden of the College was James Paget, who had already distinguished himself by his discovery of the parasitic worm trichinella spiralis while still a student at the age of 21. As Warden, Paget soon found himself directing the studies not only of the residents, but also of those students who lived outside. Paget's dedication to this task quickly re-established the prestige of the School, and the Wardens became in effect the administrators of the School and the keepers of its accounts. In 1850 Paget was largely responsible for the welcome which Bart's extended to Elizabeth Blackwell, who had just become the first qualified female medical practitioner. From May 1850 until July 1851 she was the first, and only, female student in the Medical School at St Bartholomew's. After her departure, however, a more conservative outlook prevailed and for many years any suggestion that female students should be admitted to Bart's was met with strenuous resistance. Women students continued to be prohibited until 1947.

Until 1892 the regulations of the Royal College of Physicians and Royal College of Surgeons required four years' study for a professional qualification, of which only thirty months had to be spent at a hospital medical school. After 1892 five years' study became the norm. By 1900 the winter sessions at St Bartholomew's offered lectures, classes and demonstrations in the different branches of medicine, surgery, anatomy and physiology, biology, chemistry, pathology and bacteriology. The summer session provided tuition in forensic, ophthalmic and psychological medicine, materia medica and pharmacology, midwifery and public health. The fee for five years of study was 150 guineas, if paid in one sum on entrance, or 160 guineas if paid in four annual instalments. As early as 1839 the teaching at the Medical School had been recognised by the University of London in admitting candidates for medical degrees. In 1900 the School became one of the constituent colleges of the University, but it remained a voluntary association of teachers in the hospital with no legal status of its own until after the First World War. A new post of Dean was created in 1904. In 1919 Medical and Surgical Professorial Units were established, in anticipation of a formal alteration to the status of the School. The Units aimed to bridge the gap between training, practical medicine and surgery, and the academic world of scientific research. It was a condition of University recognition that the Units were provided with their own research laboratories. The School and the Hospital were formally separated in 1921, when the School was incorporated with a new title, the Medical College of St Bartholomew's Hospital in the City of London.

In 1933-1934 the Medical College purchased the site of the former Merchant Taylors' School in Charterhouse Square. This acquisition enabled it to re-house the pre-clinical departments, which were previously in cramped quarters on the west side of Giltspur Street. In the Second World War, however, the college suffered badly. Most of the buildings on the Charterhouse Square site were damaged or destroyed, and on the Smithfield site the buildings in Long Row were also wrecked. At the outbreak of war pre-clinical students were evacuated to Queen's College, Cambridge, while clinical teaching was divided between St Bartholomew's and its two evacuation sites, Hill End Hospital at St Alban's and Friern Hospital, New Southgate. The pre-clinical school returned to London in 1946, but the rebuilding of the Charterhouse Square site was not completed until 1963. The Robin Brook Centre for Medical Education was opened in June 1980. In the 1960s the College acquired its first regular peacetime teaching facilities outside Bart's when seventy general medical beds were made available to it at St Leonard's Hospital. After the establishment of the City and Hackney Health District in 1974 it became possible for all students to receive part of their training at several other hospitals within the District.

Following the recommendations of the Royal Commission on Medical Education in 1968, a close association with the London Hospital Medical College was developed, and a number of joint academic departments were established. At the same time, a link with Queen Mary College (later Queen Mary and Westfield) was begun, with the aim that eventually students would take their two-year pre-clinical course at Queen Mary College before going on to study at St Bartholomew's or the Royal London. In 1989 the pre-clinical teaching of the London Hospital Medical College merged with that of St Bartholomew's Hospital Medical School as the Central and East London Confederation (CELC). It was re-sited at the Basic Medical Sciences Building at Queen Mary & Westfield College, Mile End, and the first intake of students entered the new pre-clinical school in 1990. Following the recommendations of the Tomlinson Report (1992) and the governmental response to it (Making London Better, 1993), the medical colleges of the Royal London Hospital and St Bartholomew's Hospital were united with Queen Mary & Westfield College in December 1995. The medical school is now known as Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry, and is part of Queen Mary, University of London.

Royal General Dispensary

The Dispensary was founded in 1770 as the General Dispensary, Aldersgate Street, and was also known as the Aldersgate Dispensary. It was renamed the Royal General Dispensary in 1844 and moved from 36 Aldersgate Street to 25 Bartholomew Close in 1850. The premises were rebuilt in 1879. In 1932, the Dispensary made arrangements for its medical and secretarial work to be undertaken by St Bartholomew's Hospital. The building in Bartholomew's Close was destroyed by enemy action in 1941. In 1948, the business of the Dispensary was finally wound up and amalgamated with St Bartholomew's Hospital.

St Audoen alias St Ewin parish

St Audoen alias St Ewin was a small church which stood at the north-west corner of Warwick Lane, Ludgate, and its existence is first recorded in about 1220. The church was demolished in about 1583, and the parish became part of Christ Church Greyfriars. The endowments of St Audoen were transferred to St Bartholomew's Hospital by a charter of Henry VIII. The parish of St Audoen was abolished in 1547 when the new parish of Christchurch Newgate Street was formed.

St Bartholomew the Less , City of London

Before the Reformation there appear to have been five chapels within St Bartholomew's Hospital, but only one survived the dissolution of the monasteries by Henry VIII. In the winter of 1546/7, when the Hospital was re-founded by royal charter, its precinct was established as the Anglican parish of St Bartholomew the Less and one of the medieval chapels became the parish church. The tower and part of the west wall of the church date from the fifteenth century and are the oldest structures which now survive within the Hospital precinct. The original parish boundary followed the line of the boundary of the Hospital in Henry VIII's day. However, since 1954, the parish boundary has extended to include land on which the Hospital has expanded to the south and east.

Bart's is now unique among English hospitals in being a parish in its own right. The parish has its own churchwardens and, since 1958, its own parochial church council, which functions independently of the Hospital authorities. The title of 'Anglican chaplain', found in practically every other hospital in England, does not exist at Bart's. The role is filled by the Vicar of St Bartholomew the Less, who is correctly known as the 'Vicar and Hospitaller'. In the sixteenth century, these were two separate offices: the Vicar of St Bartholomew the Less, who undertook pastoral care of the parishioners, and the Hospitaller to St Bartholomew's Hospital, who looked after the needs of the patients. However, in the time of William Orme, Vicar from 1670 to 1697, the two positions were combined and they have been held jointly by successive clergy down to the present day. In former times there were a number of tenanted houses in the Hospital precinct, but there are now no parishioners except resident Hospital staff, and the incumbent's main responsibility is for the spiritual welfare of the patients within the Hospital.

The medieval church remained largely intact until 1789-1791, when the roof and practically the whole of the interior were demolished and rebuilt to the design of George Dance junior, the Hospital Surveyor. Dance's structure, however, was rapidly attacked by dry rot, and the church was again rebuilt in 1823-1825. The architect of the second rebuilding was Thomas Hardwick and it is chiefly his work that is visible in the church today. Hardwick retained much of Dance's octagonal design for the interior of the church, but reconstructed it using more durable materials, and pulled down all that remained of the medieval building apart from the tower and the west end. Some of the monuments from the old building were preserved and reinstated, including memorials to Robert Balthrope, Queen Elizabeth I's sergeant surgeon (died 1591), and to Anne, wife of Thomas Bodley, founder of the Bodleian Library at Oxford, whose London house stood within the Hospital precinct in the early seventeenth century. A curious feature of the church is the height of the floor, most of which is some seventy-five centimetres above ground level. The reason for this appears to be unknown. Two of the three bells in the tower are medieval, and are very probably as old as the tower itself. The stained glass windows depicting the Virgin and Child with St Luke, St Bartholomew and Rahere, and also the war memorial windows, were designed by Hugh Easton and dedicated in 1951. They replaced Victorian glass destroyed in the Second World War.

In earlier centuries, attendance at church was compulsory for the nursing staff of the Hospital. Patients were also expected to attend every Sunday, unless they were too weak to do so. Regular Sunday and weekday services are held throughout the year, and the church is frequently used by members of staff for weddings, for the baptisms of their children, and for memorial services. The Vicar and Hospitaller works in close co-operation with the chaplains of other denominations and advises and counsels staff and patients, their relatives and other visitors.

St Nicholas Shambles , City of London

The Church of St Nicholas Shambles was built off Newgate Street in the City of London sometime before 1196, next to an abattoir, and was demolished in 1547. The parish united with that of Christ Church Greyfriars, Newgate Street at the same time, and the endowments were transferred to St Bartholomew's Hospital by the charter of Henry VIII.

Invalid Asylum for Respectable Females

The Invalid Asylum for Respectable Females was established in 1825 by Miss Mary Lister, (an aunt of Joseph Lister, the founder of antiseptic surgery), to 'afford a temporary Asylum to Respectable Females, employed in shops and in other dependent situations, and Servants, obliged by illness to quit their places'. It was intended to provide nursing and medical attention for those women not ill enough for admittance to a large public hospital, but not well enough to enter a convalescent home. A certificate of good moral conduct was required of each woman before admittance, and patients were subject to strict rules and numerous requirements, including the care of their fellow patients and cleaning of the wards.

The institution altered its name to the Invalid Asylum and Stoke Newington Home Hospital for Women in 1911. By 1916 the establishment was known as the Stoke Newington Home Hospital for Women. It appears that the Invalid Asylum was initially established in Church Street in Stoke Newington. By 1834, the Asylum was housed in a different building to that in which it had begun. This new building was located at 187 High Street, Stoke Newington, and the Asylum remained there until immediately prior to the Second World War. In July and August 1939, the patients were moved to The Firs in Stevenage, the property there having been taken on a lease. In 1944, the Home Hospital bought The Firs, selling their former property in Stoke Newington at the same time.

From its beginning the Invalid Asylum had a physician and surgeon in attendance every working day, and the attendance of a dentist is noted from 1866. In 1826, its first full year, the Asylum treated forty-seven women. By the time of its centenary in 1926, this number had risen to 264. The original purpose had also been extended, with convalescent and maternity cases being admitted. The Invalid Asylum was overseen by a Ladies Committee, and the establishment very quickly gained royal patronage, with Princess Augusta acting as Patroness from 1826 until 1840, when Queen Victoria accepted the role. Queen Victoria served as Patroness of the Invalid Asylum for over 60 years, and the tradition of royal patronage continued right up to the incorporation of the Home into the National Health Service in 1948.

Guild of St Bartholomew's Hospital

The Guild of St Bartholomew's Hospital was established in 1911, with the objective of providing for the needs and comfort of the patients and staff. At this time it was called 'The Women's Guild' and had 368 members. In the years before 1948, the Guild gave financial support towards the salaries of the four Out-patient Almoners. They also provided voluntary workers and financial help for 'necessitous cases' amounting to £100 a year. During the Second World War the Guild opened a small shop called 'Bart's Bazaar' and mebers provided clothing, household goods, comfort and tea for those people bombed out of their homes in the City. After the war the Guild took over the supplying and running of the Childrens' Library, and in 1946 the trolley service began. This enabled patients to do a little shopping whilst in bed and proved to be of considerable psychological benefit to them. In 1960 the Guild opened a flower shop and in 1972 they established a shop sellng a range of goods tailored to the needs of patients and staff. In 1979 the word 'Women's' was dropped from the name of the Guild and for the first time men were invited to become members. In 1980 the Guild raised sufficient funds to provide six beds for the new Intensive Care Unit, at a cost of £1500 per bed.

Sir Benjamin Collins Brodie (1783-1862) attended anatomical lectures of John Abernathy at St Bartholomew's Hospital and James Wilson at the Hunterian School of Anatomy, Great Windmill Street, London, 1801-1802; joint secretary of the 'Academical Society'; entered St George's Hospital as a pupil under Sir Everard Home, 1803; appointed House Surgeon, 1805; demonstrator to the School of Anatomy, 1805-1812; assisted Home in his private operations, and in his researches on comparative anatomy; elected Assistant Surgeon to St George's, 1808, and held this appointment for fourteen years; entered upon private practice, Sackville Street, London, 1809; moved practice to Savile Row, 1819; appointed Professor of Comparative Anatomy and Physiology, Royal College of Surgeons, 1819; appointed Sergeant-Surgeon to the King, 1832; acquired premises at Kinnerton Street for the anatomical theatre, museum and lecture rooms for St George's Hospital Medical School; created Baronet, 1834; examiner and member of Council, Royal College of Surgeons; introduced Fellowship examination, 1843; appointed President of the Royal College of Surgeons, 1844; elected President of the Royal Society, 1858; elected first President of the General Medical Council, 1858; resigned Presidency of Royal Society due to failing eyesight, 1861; published 'Psychological Inquiries,', 1854 and 1862.

Hunter, John, 1728-1793, anatomist and surgeon

William Hunter (1718-1783) had opened his school of anatomy in Covent Garden in 1745, and his brother John joined him as his apprentice in 1748. John attended William Cheselden's surgical practice at Chelsea Hospital during 1749-1750 and in 1751 he became an apprentice at St Bartholomew's Hospital under the surgeon Percival Pott. In 1754 he entered St George's Hospital as a surgeon's pupil and was appointed House Surgeon in 1756, but resigned the post after only five months. He was elected to the surgeoncy of St George's in 1767.

When St George's Hospital had opened in 1733, six physicians and three surgeons had been appointed as the medical officers and were permitted a small number of students who accompanied them on the wards or attended operations. The fees collected from these pupils were pooled between the medical officers but there was no general teaching or lectures. Hunter attempted to formalise the teaching and invited all pupils to attend his surgical lectures and his brother William's anatomical lectures at the School of Anatomy in Great Windmill Street, opened by that William in 1768. In 1783 John suggested that St George's should have its own medical school run along the same lines as the Guys' Hospital school, with each of the St George's surgeons giving six lectures annually, though his colleagues rejected the idea. An acrimonious conflict developed between Hunter and his peers at St George's on the instruction of pupils. At a board meeting on 16 Oct 1793 during the discussion of the issue, Hunter suffered a fit of apoplexy leading to his death.

Hunter's pupils revolutionised medicine in the first half of the 19th century. These included Edward Jenner, renowned for his work in vaccinating against Smallpox, and Everard Home, Hunter's brother-in-law, who gave the first recorded lecture in St George's in 1803.

Haliday , Alexander Henry , 1807-1870 , entomologist

Alexander Haliday was born in County Down, Ireland, on 21 November 1807. He trained in the law but became a keen amateur naturalist and collector,taking up the study of entomology full time and lecturing in Dublin. He moved to Italy in 1861/2, where he helped found the Italian Entomological Society in 1869. Haliday was a member of several learned societies, including the Royal Entomological Society. Haliday died in 1870.

Perkin , William Henry , 1838-1907 , chemist

William Henry Perkin was an English chemist born in East London; he entered the Royal College of Chemistry aged 15 and discovered the first aniline dye, Mauveine, at the age of 18. Perkin's discovery set off the subsequent discovery of other new aniline dyes which led on to factories being established to produce them. Another result of his discovery was the increase in the processing of coal tar, the main source of material for his dye. Perkin was widely lauded in his later life (including his knighthood in 1906) and was also President of the Chemical Society from 1883 to 1885.

Alcock , Alfred William , 1858-1933 , zoologist

Alfred William Alcock was born in Bombay on June 23 1859, the son of Captain John Alcock. Alcock's school years at Westminster were cut short by his father's financial difficulties, he was sent to India at the age of 17, to relatives in the coffee trade. For five years he tried out a number of jobs including schooolmastering; during this time he became interested in science, helped by Michael Foster's physiology textbook. In 1881 a brother-in-law, an officer in the Indian Civil Service, offered to help him to a medical education, which he completed at Aberdeen in three and a half years graduating MB, CM in 1885. Adding a course in tropical medicine at Netley to his qualifications, Alcock then spent another 20 years in India, in the Indian Marine Survey, as Surgeon-Naturalist, with the Indian Museum in Calcutta, and keeping in touch with medicine at the Medical College Hospital.

On his return to London, Patrick Manson recruited him, in 1906, to head a new medical entomology department, to join Leiper's helminthology and Wenyon's protozoology at the School of Tropical Medicine at the Albert Dock. He was the author of the first comprehensive textbook of Entomology for Medical Officers in 1911; in 1921 he became the first Professor of Medical Zoology in the University of London. His influence on the development of the London School was much greater than that of a mere teacher of medical entomology. He became an active architect; he embellished the school museum; he collected and arranged a large collection of insects of medical importance. He was largely concerned with the foundation of the Tropical Diseases Library based to a great extent on the books which Manson had collected. He was a frequent contributor to the short-lived Journal of the London School of Tropical Medicine which flourished for a time under his guidance but which was discontinued in 1913. Alcock died in 1933.

Publications include Report on the natural history results of the Pamir boundary commission (Calcutta, 1898) and Entomology for medical officers (London, 1911).

Born in Edinburgh in 1873, Balfour received his education at George Watson's college and at the University of Edinburgh where he graduated MB CM in 1894. After graduation he joined his father in general practice but it soon became clear that he was inclined toward preventive rather than curative medicine. He went to Cambridge University in 1895, taking his Diploma in Public Health in 1897. He returned to Edinburgh University where he graduated MD with a thesis on the toxicity of dyestuffs and river pollution for which he was awarded the Gold Medal. He took the Edinburgh BSc in Public Health at Edinburgh University in 1900 before serving as a civil surgeon in the Transvaal in the second Boer War, 1900-1901. On his return he became interested in tropical medicine through his friendship with Sir Patrick Manson and took a course at the School. In 1902 he was appointed Director of the Wellcome Tropical Research Laboratory at Khartoum and Medical Officer of Health to that city. He remained in Khartoum until 1913 and his work was published in four reports from the Wellcome Tropical Research Laboratories (1904-1911). On his return to England, he founded and directed the Wellcome Bureau of Scientific Research and organised what was to become the Wellcome Museum of Medical Science. He made an extensive tour of South America and the West Indies. He took on many different roles during world war one, at the outbreak he was in uniform in France, in 1915 he became a temporary Lt Col, Royal Army Medical Corps. In 1915-1916 he became a member of the Medical Advisory Committee, Mediterranean Expeditionary Force, he was the President of the Medical Advisory Committee, Mesopotamia 1916-1917, Scientific Adviser to Inspecting Surgeon-General, British Expeditionary Force, East Africa, 1917 and President of the Egyptian Public Health Commission, 1918. He returned as Director in Chief of the Wellcome Bureau and became a member of the Colonial Advisory Medical and Sanitary Committee and Medical Research Committee. In 1921 he visited Mauritius to advise on sanitation and went to Bermuda in 1923 on a similar expedition. In 1923 he was appointed the first Director of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. In 1926 he revisited the Sudan at the invitation of the Government, presided at the opening of the State Institute in Warsaw and gave an address at the opening of the School of Hygiene in John Hopkins University in America. He was elected President of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 1925-1927, he became D.Sc and LL.D (Edinburgh) and LL.D of John Hopkins and Rochester Universities in USA and also a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London and Edinburgh. In 1920 he received the Mary Kingsley Medal of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine. He was knighted in 1930. He died from a fall from a window of a nursing home in Kent on 1 January 1931. Selected publications include (medicine): Medicine, Public Health and Preventive Medicine (with C. J. Lewis, 1902); Memoranda on Medical Diseases in Tropical and Sub-Tropical Areas (1916); War Against Tropical Disease (1920); Reports to the Health Committee of the League of Nations on Tuberculosis and Sleeping Sickness in Equatorial Africa (1923); Health Problems of the Empire (with H. H. Scott, 1924); (novels/historical adventures): By Stroke of Sword (1897); To Arms (1898); Vengeance is Mine (1899); Cashiered and Other War Stories (1902); The Golden Kingdom (1903).

Barton , William , b 1923 , lecturer in tropical medicine

William Barton was born in 1923; educated in Nakuru, Kenya, 1929-1931; attended George Watson's Boys' College, Edinburgh, from 1931 and Edinburgh University Medical School. Barton qualified as a doctor in 1945 and worked as houseman at Surgical Out-patients Department in Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, 1945.

Barton was employed by the Colonial Service to practice medicine, 1946-1964, which included postings in Kenya, 1946-1956 and Zanzibar, 1956-1964; became senior lecturer at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, 1964, under Professor George MacDonald, malariologist, and was appointed Deputy Director of the Ross Institute, 1968, which was incorporated in the Department of Tropical Hygiene. Barton was employed by the World Health Organisation (WHO), 1967-1987; he worked as consultant at WHO Head Quarters in Geneva, 1967-1971; was appointed as WHO Senior Medical Officer in Division of Family Health, 1972, and later as Programme Manager of Staff Development and Training, 1975. On retirement, Barton worked as Personal Advisor to the Director General of the Department of Health and Medical Services in Dubai.

Publications: In and Out of Africa (Blaisdon Publishing, 2000).

Sir Austin Bradford Hill was born on 8 July 1897 in Hampstead, London, son of Sir Leonard Erskine Hill (1866-1952), professor of physiology at the London Hospital medical college, and his wife, Janet, née Alexander (1868-1956). Bradford Hill was educated at Chigwell School, 1908-1916. He was destined for the study of medicine when, as a pilot in World War One, he was invalided out of the forces with near fatal tuberculosis while serving at Gallipoli in the Dardanelles campaign.

Recovering at home, he took an external London degree in economics and, encouraged by the family friend Major Greenwood, began statistical studies for the Medical Research Council in 1923. Moving with Greenwood to the new London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine in 1927, he became Reader in Epidemiology and Vital Statistics, 1933-1945. The first edition of his textbook Principles of Medical Statistics was published in 1937 and has influenced generations of medical statisticians and epidemiologists, and left its mark on the development of medical science in the second half of the twentieth century, as have his seminal studies on carcinogenic effects of smoking (with Richard Doll) and on the use of randomisation in clinical trials of new drugs. Bradford Hill was Honorary Director of the MRC's Statistical Research Unit, 1945-61; 'acting' Dean, then Dean of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, 1955-1957.

CBE, 1951; knighted, 1961; elected a Fellow of the Royal Society, 1954, and received honorary degrees from Oxford and Edinburgh and many honorary fellowships and medals, including an honorary fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians of London and the gold medal of the Royal Statistical Society, 1953. Bradford Hill died, 18 April 1991.

Publications include: Principles of medical statistics (The Lancet; Oxford University Press, London and New York, 1971); Statistical methods in clinical and preventive medicine (Livingstone, Edinburgh, 1962) and Experimental epidemiology by M. Greenwood, A. Bradford Hill, W. W. C. Topley and J. Wilson, Medical Research Council (Great Britain) Special report series, no. 209 (H. M. Stationery Office, London, 1936).

Browne , Stanley George , 1907-1986 , medical missionary

Stanley George Browne was born on 8 December 1907, in New Cross London; educated at Waller Road Elementary School, New Cross, 1910-1919, and Brockley Central School, 1919-1923. Browne left school early due to the illness of his father, Arthur Browne (1874-1967) and was employed as junior clerk in the New Cross' clerk's department at Deptford town hall from 1923, whilst studying at night school. Browne passed matriculation in the first division, June 1926; was awarded one of the first London County Council (LCC) non-vocational scholarships in 1927 and entered King's College London in 1928, receiving a further scholarship allowing him to follow a medical course. Browne received an MB, BS, at London University in 1933.

Browne became a member of the Royal College of Physicians, 1934 and a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons, 1935; attended the Institut de Médecine Tropicale Prince Léopold, Antwerp, gaining a diploma in tropical medicine; worked at Baptist Missionary Society Hospital at Yakusu in the Belgian Congo,1936. In 1940, a leprosarium was opened at Yakusu and the American Mission to Lepers sent out a new drug, diasone, which Browne used successfully. He also worked on the increasing rate of onchocerciasis and the control of its vector, the blackfly Simulium damnosum, 1954. This leprosarium was known internationally and Browne was urged by leprologist Robert Cochrane to continue to focus upon leprosy.

Browne resigned from the Baptist Missionary Society, 1958 and returned to England for a year; was appointed senior leprologist at the Leprosy Research Unit, Uzuakoli in eastern Nigeria, 1959 and continued his work with trials of new drugs, in particular B663 or clofazimine. Browne was invited to be chairman of the working group on the treatment of leprosy at the International Congress on Leprosy at Rio de Janeiro, 1963 and advised on the establishment of the All Africa Leprosy Training and Rehabilitation Centre, in Adis Ababa. During this time Browne published extensively in both English and French on leprosy, onchocerciasis and other tropical diseases, as well as on medical ethics and succeeded Robert Cochrane as Director of the Leprosy Study Centre, London, 1966-1980.

Browne campaigned against the stigma attached to the disease leprosy and his work in this field was recognised when he was appointed an OBE in 1965 and the CMG in 1976. He was president of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene from 1977 to 1979, and president of the Baptist Union from 1980 to 1981. Brown died, 29 January 1986.

Publications include Health of the whole person: a challenge to Christians (Medical Missionary Association by Christian Medical Fellowship, London, 1985); Leprosy: new hope and continuing challenge (The Leprosy Mission, London, 1966) and Leprosy in the Bible (Christian Medical Fellowship, London, [1970]).

Budd , William , (1811-1880) , physician

William Budd was born on 14 September 1811 in North Tawton, Devon; studied medicine in London, Edinburgh and Paris, 1828-1837 and gained an MD at Edinburgh, 1838. He practised at North Tawton, Devonshire, 1839 and Bristol 1842-1873; made important researches into the conditions of zymotic diseases and published numerous medical papers. Budd died in Somerset in 1880.

John Hill Burton was born in Aberdeen in 1809; educated at Aberdeen grammar school from 1819, and went with a bursary to Marischal College, Aberdeen, in 1823. After graduating MA in 1826, he applied himself to the law, reading for the bar in Edinburgh. He was an Adovcate by profession, and as a young man compiled various legal works and was associated with various movements, not only law reform but also political economy and public health. Later his aptitude led him along literary and historical lines. Edinburgh at this period was the centre of intellectual activity and Burton Hill became an intimate friend of many of the notabilities of the day. Burton Hill died of bronchitis at his home, Morton House, in the Pentland Hills on 10 August 1881.

Sir Edwin Chadwick was born at Longsight, near Manchester, on 24 January 1800; educated at a village school in Longsight and then boarded briefly at Dr Wordsworth's school in Stockport and moved to London. Edwin clerked until 1823, when he shifted towards the bar. This acquainted him with the social problems of prisons, hospitals, and slums.

Chadwick was admitted to the Middle Temple in 1823. In 1832 he was appointed Assistant Commissioner to the Poor Law Enquiry and the following year Royal Commissioner to the same Enquiry, and to enquire into the employment of children in factories. In 1834 he was appointed Secretary to the Poor Law Commission, and in 1836 Royal Commissioner to enquire into a rural constabulary. In 1842 Chadwick published the Report on the Sanitary Condition of the Labouring Population (known as the 'Sanitary Report'). In 1847 he lost his position as Secretary of the Poor Law Commission, but was appointed Royal Commissioner on London sanitation, and Metropolitan Commissioner of Sewers.

In 1848 Chadwick was created CB and was appointed Commissioner to the General Board of Health. He resigned from the Metropolitan Commission of Sewers in 1849 and from the General Board of Health in 1854. In 1857 he became interested in standing for Parliament and in 1859 stood as candidate for Evesham. In 1865 he stood as candidate for London University but withdrew before the poll. In 1868 he stood for Kilmarknock Burghs. He was created KCB in 1889. Chadwick died on 5 July 1890.

Buxton , Patrick Alfred , 1892-1955 , entomologist

Patrick Alfred Buxton, born London, 1892, educated at home until the age of ten and was influenced by his father's family tradition (an old Quaker custom) of spare time nature study, less so by his mother's family's insistence on classical languages - she was a Jex-Blake, sister of the Mistress of Girton College, Cambridge, and of the Principal of Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford.

At Trinity College, Cambridge, Walter Fletcher encouraged Buxton's studies in the Natural Sciences Tripos. During the Great War he qualified in medicine at St George's, and then spent his time in the Royal Army Medical Corps collecting insects in Mesopotamia and Persia. During the 1920s he gradually equipped himself for his future role as an eminent medical entomologist, working in Cambridge, London and abroad. From 1923-1925 he led an expedition to Samoa, New Hebrides and the Western Pacific Islands.

In 1925 Buxton succeeded Col A Alcock as Director of the Department of Entomology in the new London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and became the Professor of Entomology in London University in 1933. With V B Wigglesworth he built up the study and teaching of insect physiology and medical entomology in the School. His studies of lice (The louse, 1939,1947) involved students, friends and family members as incubators and have become legendary. According to Wigglesworth his crowning achievement was The natural history of tsetse-flies, 1954.

Buxton did invaluable work on insecticides leading to the control of typhus in the war in Italy and elsewhere. Buxton wrote papers on many other zoological subjects and has several species of birds to his credit. He was elected a member of the Medical Research Council, President of the Royal Entomological Society and of the Linnean Society. In addition, he was a member of many other learned bodies. At the time of his death in 1955, he had had the longest service of any member of the active staff of the School.

Carpenter , Geoffrey Douglas Hale , 1882-1953

Geoffrey Douglas Hale Carpenter, born 26 October, 1882. He came of a distinguished academic family as both his father and grandfather were doctors of science and Fellows of the Royal Society. He had the rare privilege of being born in Eton College, where his father was an assistant master and his mother daughter of another. He was educated at the Dragon School (Lynams's), Bradfield College and St Catherine's Oxford, graduating BA with a second-class in his final examination in 1904 and then passing with a University Entrance Scholarship to St George's Hospital. He qualified MRCS, LRCP in 1908 taking the degrees of BM, BCh in the same year and he proceeded to the DM five years later. After qualification he held the appointments of house-surgeon and house-physician at St George's Hospital. In 1910 he entered the Colonial Medical Service and studied tropical medicine under Patrick Manson at the London School of Tropical Medicine in 1910 where he gained a certificate with distinction.

He was appointed by the Royal Society to the Sleeping Sickness Commission and was engaged for the work taking up residence in the Sesse Islands in the north-west part of Lake Victoria in February 1911. The results of his investigations appeared in the Reports of the Sleeping Sickness Commission of the Royal Society (1912, 1913 and 1919), and were presented in another form for his degree of doctor of medicine, Oxford.

World War One caused him to be withdrawn from tsetse research and he served as a captain with the Uganda Medical Service, being constantly moved about from post to post waiting for casualties that never came. So he studied and collected insects of all kinds, paying special attention to the phenomena of mimicry, polymorphism and matters of evolutionary interest and keeping up a correspondence about his work with the later Sir Edward Poulton of Oxford. For his services in the war he was appointed MBE in 1918. In 1920 he was specialist officer for the control of sleeping sickness in Uganda until he retired from the Colonial Medical Service in 1930, but he undertook a special investigation into tsetse fly in Ngamiland at the request of the Secretary of State for the colonies in 1930-1931.

On returning to England he built a house in Oxford, near the University Museum, which housed the Hope Department of Entomology where many of his African specimens were held. For a year or two he visited the department daily, studying and assisting Sir Edward Poulton. When Sir Edward retired in 1933, Hale Carpenter succeeded him as Hope Professor, occupying the chair until 1948, when he retired on reaching the age limit. The title of emeritus professor was then conferred upon him.

During World War Two he lectured on tropical medicine and camouflage to the troops in training near Oxford and he prepared special booklets for the African campaigns. He was keenly interested in Linnean, Zoological and Royal Societies and was a frequent attendee and speaker at their meetings in London, serving as vice president of the Linnean in 1935-1936 and as president of the Royal Entomological Society in 1945-1946. His monumental study of Euploea, a genus of butterflies ranging widely across the Pacific was completed shortly before his death and appeared in the Transactions of the Zoological Society of London. His other writings include A Naturalist on Lake Victoria (1920) and Mimicry (1933) as well as numerous technical publications. In 1919 he married Amy Frances Thomas-Peter, of Treviles, Cornwall. Carpenter died in 1953.

Castellani , Sir , Aldo , 1877-1971 , Knight , mycologist

Sir Aldo Castellani was born and educated in Florence; qualified in medicine in 1899, and after working in Bonn came to London to the School of Tropical Medicine in 1901. Through Manson's recommendation he joined the Royal Society Commission on Sleeping Sickness as its bacteriologist, and left London for Entebbe, Uganda with George Carmichael Low and Cuthbert Christie in 1902. His early observation of a trypanosome in the cerebro-spinal fluid of a sleeping sickness sufferer without initially realising its importance gave rise to a famous controversy involving Sir David Bruce and others.

In 1903 he was appointed Bacteriologist to the Government of Ceylon and was housed in the Central laboratory in Colombo where he carried on his research, notably in the virgin field of mycology and in bacteriology where he described several new species of intestinal bacilli and invented the absorption test for the serological identification of closely allied organisms. He left Ceylon in 1915 to take the Chair of Medicine in Naples.

Castellani became involved in the war in Serbia and Macedonia, 1915-1918, where he was a member of the Inter-Allied Sanitary Commission. In 1919 he came to London as Consultant to the Ministry of Pensions and set up in consulting practice in Harley Street. With Sir William Simpson, he began a movement to establish the Ross Institute where he became Physician and Mycologist. When the Institute became part of London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine in 1934, Castellani became Director of Mycology and Mycological Diseases in the School, before his enthusiasm for Royal and potentially eminent patients (including Mussolini) further clouded his reputation. He finally followed the Queen of Italy into exile in Portugal and ended his long life as Professor at Lisbon's Institute of Tropical Medicine. Castellani died in 1971.

Sir Joseph Austen Chamberlain was born in Birmingham in 1863 and was the elder son of Joseph Chamberlain (1836-1914), industrialist, Mayor of Birmingham, Member of Parliament and several times Minister of the Crown. He was also half-brother to Neville Chamberlain (1869-1940), Prime Minister.

Austen Chamberlain's Parliamentary career spanned 1892-1937, and he was deeply involved in party, national and international politics as the supporter of his father, as a leader in the Conservative/Unionist party and as elder statesman. He held offices including Junior Whip, 1893; Civil Lord of the Admiralty, 1895-1900; Financial Secretary to the Treasury, 1900-1902; Postmaster General, 1902-1903; Chancellor of the Exchequer, 1903-1905 and 1919-1921; Secretary of State for India 1915-1917; Leader of the House and Lord Privy Seal, 1921-1922; Foreign Secretary, 1924-1929, and First Lord of the Admiralty, 1931. Chamberlain was made a knight in 1925 and won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1926.

Postgraduate medical education in London is deeply indebted to the Chamberlain family. Joseph Chamberlain was responsible for the foundation in 1899 of the London School of Tropical Medicine for which Sir Austen Chamberlain at a later date raised an endowment fund. Neville Chamberlain, as Minister of Health, laid the foundation stone of the School in 1926 and in 1932, Sir Austen became Chairman of its Court of Governors.

He was a member of the Board of Management of the School and regularly attended the meetings of its Board, giving an immense amount of personal attention both to the business management of the School and to the work of the scientific staff; instrumental in incorporating the Ross Institute in the School, 1934; and worked to secure the School's endowment, donations and subscriptions.

It was perhaps typical of the pains he took to make himself intimate with the affairs of the School that, whatever the other claims on his time might be, he invariably attended the annual Students' dinner and devoted his whole evening to talking with individual students. Sir Austin died in 1937.

Born 11 Jun 1898; educated Liverpool Institute and Liverpool University; served King's (Liverpool) Regiment, 1915-1919; qualified MB, ChB, University of Liverpool, 1925; MD (Liverpool), 1926; worked in Iraq Health Service, 1927-1930; Professor of Zoology, Royal College of Medicine of Iraq; Civil Staff Surgeon, Baghdad; worked in Sudan Medical Service (SMS), 1930-1946; served in Sudan Defence Force and Royal Army Medical Corps, Mirala (appointed Lt Col), World War Two, 1940-1944; Medical Officer of Health, Khartoum, 1944; Assistant Director (Public Health) SMS, 1945-1946; Senior Lecturer in Tropical Hygiene, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, 1946-1948; Quarantine Expert, Saudi Arabia, 1948-1950; Short Term Consultant in Nutrition, World Health Organization (WHO), 1951; Health Adviser, Aden Protectorate Health Service, 1951-1952; WHO. Nutritionist, Teheran, 1962-1963; died 26 Sep, 1966. Publications: Snakes and Snake Bite in Iraq (1932); The Feeding of Sudanese Infants (1946); contributions on tropical medicine and ophiology.

Crowden , Guy Pascoe , 1894-1966 , physiologist

Guy Pascoe Crowden was born in 1894 and brought up in Wisbech, where his father was in general practice. Crowden's medical studies at University College London were interrupted by World War One. He served in France with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry, where experience with the Gas Brigade at Ypres, Somme and Passchendale shaped a growing interest in the physiology of work and stress.

Assistant in the University College Physiology Department, 1924; appointed Lecturer in Applied Physiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, 1929. His research interests ranged from fatigue and recovery in muscular work to the effects of heat and cold in nutrition. In 1934 he became Reader in Industrial Physiology at the School and finally, after service in the Royal Army Medical Corps during World War Two, he was appointed Professor of Applied Physiology in 1946. He retired in 1952. His connections with firms interested in industrial welfare work were to prove a link to the School's later involvement with occupational health. Crowden died in 1966.