University of London , University Observatory

Identity area

Authorized form of name

University of London , University Observatory

Description area

History

In 1926 Mr. J G Wilson offered to the University a 24-inch Reflector Telescope. Certain schools of the University undertook for a specified period to contribute to the maintenance of an University Observatory, and the Senate accepted Mr. Wilson's offer and made a capital grant from general funds of £5000 for the building and the establishment of the Observatory. The University Observatory was opened in 1929 and was situated in Mill Hill Park. From 1951 University College London has administered the Observatory.